Wilcox Park

Details

« All Parks

park amenities


  • Ball Diamond
  • City Owned Parks & Public Spaces
  • Picnic Tables
  • Restrooms
  • Tennis Courts -Four
  • Basketball Court
  • Enclosed Shelterhouse -With Restroom
  • Playground
  • Soccer Field
  • Wading Pool -Closed

Est. 1911

Classified as a Neighborhood Park it serves as the recreational and social focus of the neighborhood.

One of several parks established after the 1911 $200,000 park bond passed. Wilcox was named for FP Wilcox, who also bequeathed $10,000 to purchase additional lots. Superintendent of Parks (1905-1928) Eugene Goebel designed the original layout. A bathhouse and pool was built at the northern end in 1920, but by the 1950’s it had been replaced by a shelter and adjoining wading pool.

 

map

Explore this park and add a tree to our map